What Are T-Levels? | T-Level Qualifications | MK College

What Are T-Levels?

| T Levels

Home > Blog > School Leavers > T Levels > What Are T-Levels?

If you haven’t already heard, T Levels are the new kid on the block. This new choice after GCSE’s has a LOT to offer, and we’re going to tell you everything you need to know about them.

So, What are T-Levels?

T Levels are a new, 2-year qualification, designed to give YOU a head start towards the career that you want. Designed for 16-18 year olds, this qualification will focus on practical, rather than academic subjects like A Levels, with 80% classroom learning and 20% industry placement.

All courses have been co-created by employers from over 200 businesses – including Fujitsu and Skanska – to make sure that you’ll be gaining necessary and important industry skills, therefore preparing you for highly skilled jobs or undergraduate study.

What subjects can I study?

At Milton Keynes College, we are currently delivering the following T Level courses:

  • Beauty Therapy
  • Catering and Hospitality
  • Childcare – Assisting Teaching
  • Construction (Design, Surveying and Planning)
  • Digital Production, Design & Development
  • Digital Support Services
  • Design & Development for Engineering and Manufacturing
  • Education and Childcare
  • Engineering, Manufacturing, Processing and Control
  • Health
  • Laboratory Science

Can’t see the subject you’re interested in? Don’t worry – in the coming years, more T Levels will become available to study. View the list of T Levels that will be offered across the country here. Please note though that not all these subjects will be available to study at MK College.

What’s the difference between T Levels and A Levels?

T Levels, also known as Technical Levels, are for students who want to develop work-related knowledge and skills within a specific industry, rather than academic skills learnt from studying A Levels.

What’s more, your T Level will be worth UCAS points exactly like A Levels and is a nationally recognised qualification accepted by universities and other education providers. See below the table that compares the grades of a T Level to an A Level.

96Pass (C or above)CCC
72Pass (D or above)DDD

How is a T Level different to an Apprenticeship?

Apprenticeships and T Levels are similar, as the qualifications are based upon the same standards which are designed by employers. However, an apprentice spends most of their time in the workplace, learning on-the-job, whereas a T level student will spend most of their time in the classroom. But both qualifications have been designed to give school and college leavers alternatives to the traditional paths to starting a career.

Why should I study a T Level?

There are many great reasons why studying a T Level could be a fantastic option for you after you’ve finished your GCSE’s:

  1. They have been designed with leading businesses and employers to give you the knowledge and skills you need, relevant to the industry you’re interested in.
  2. T Levels will provide you with the experience of what a real working environment is like with an industry placement lasting at least 45 days.
  3. Once you have successfully completed your T Level qualification, you will receive a nationally recognised certificate. The certificate will also show details of what you have learned on the course.
  4. Recognised by universities and other education providers, Your T Level will be worth UCAS points exactly the same way as A Levels.
  5. T Levels involve more classroom study than apprenticeships (a whopping 80%!), which means you can experience an industry while you are continuing your studies.

Think a T Level could be the best next step for you? Want to find out more about this qualification or read more about the T Levels on offer with us at MK College.