Prison Services staff honoured at annual awards - MK College

Prison Services staff honoured at annual awards

| Prison Services

Home > News > Prison Services > Prison Services staff honoured at annual awards

Staff working across our Prison Services gathered for the annual Prison Services Awards.

The event was a chance to recognise the hard work of our teams working in our Prisons and our students.

We were joined by many colleagues from HMPPS, LJ Flanders an ex-prisoner turned personal trainer and author of the Cell Workout as well as Julia Upton, the High Sheriff of Buckinghamshire.

We had hundreds of nominations and choosing the winners was extremely tough, but the awards went to:

  • Tutor of the Year Award : Tracey Laverick (HMP Gartree)
  • Practical Skills Tutor of the Year: Austin Booth (HMP Garth)
  • Support Worker of the Year: Sharon Von Holtz (HMP Bullingdon)
  • ALS Practitioner of the Year: Alison Belk (HMP Wakefield)
  • Innovation Award: Sonia Hyner  (HMP Swaleside)
  • Partner of the Year Award: Sue Riseley (HMP Wakefield)
  • Leadership Award: Gemma Howarth (HMYOI Aylesbury)
  • Team of the Year: Functions Skills Team (HMP Frankland)
  • Resettlement Services Award: Charlotte Swinburn (HMP Woodhill)
  • Resettlement Rising Star: Amy De Freitas (HMP Bullingdon)

It was also a chance to acknowledge our learners’ achievements with the following awards:

  • Learner of the Year Under 29: Eric (HMP Grendon)
  • Learner of the Year Over 30: Fredrick (HMP Full Sutton)
  • Mentor of the Year Award: John (HMP Erlestoke)
  • Most Improved Award: Douane (HMP Long Lartin)

The winners of our Flash Fiction creative writing competition for learners were also announced:

  • Flash Fiction Award: Jasper (HMP Erlestoke)
  • First Steps Award: Gavin (HMP Isle of Wight)

Congratulations to all our winners and nominees.